CHANGE

23 – 27 April 2014 Dubai Marina, Dubai

 

“To see the surface from below means to see the light”

 

Change: “To see the surface from below means to see the light” (detail)

Change: “To see the surface from below means to see the light” (detail)

I recently photographed my beautiful friend Gill Kenny as part of a personal project, focusing on aspects of research regarding a film that I am working on (more on that later). The project is also related to femininity, form and finding our own feminine voice and this portrait not only signifies a great change in Gill’s life, but also change in my own life too. Gill is an inspiration to me in more ways than one; she is a strong and utterly independent woman. She has a job that leaves little room for femininity, yet she always maintains a balance between being a girl and being a girl in “man’s” world. This portrait is an illustration of how I know her: a whimsical (yet centered), bubbly girl who has always wanted to be a mermaid. For me the image is an illustration of change and certain choices I am making in my own career and personal life and in the knowing that being in flux is not always a bad thing.

The portrait was taken in a studio and various layers of material, water and painterly effects where layered to create this composite. Lighting set-up was done by using a single flash and some ambient mixed light.

Change: “To see the surface from below means to see the light”

Change: “To see the surface from below means to see the light”

Photographer and Composite: Karien Mulder

Assistant: Celeste Muller

Model: Gill Kenny

 

 

 

 

 

2 replies »

  1. Hi there I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by error,
    while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

